jump to content

Welcome to ERNW

home page infographic.pngThe Engineering Research Network Wales spans all of the Welsh universities and brings together researchers working in the fields of engineering, technology and applied science. Our aim is to build research collaborations and shared models of working, advocate for engineering in Wales, and facilitate engagement of the academic research community with industry and the public sector. The network is supported by Sêr Cymru and part funded by the European Regional Development Fund, through the Welsh Government. 

The first phase of our network ran from 2013-2019 as the Sêr Cymru National Research Network (NRN) in Advanced Engineering and Materials. Over 60 R&D projects were delivered with funded support for 40 PhD students and 46 postdoctoral researchers in joint programmes with over 70 commercial partners. This investment leveraged over £20 million of additional research grant funding.

Phase 2 of the network runs until March 2023 and will involve capacity building and scoping of future support initiatives for Engineering in Wales.

To find our more, sign up for our Newsletter or get in touch with one of the team.

Management Team


DirectorProfessor Huw Summers FLSW

Huw_Summers.jpgHuw is a Medical Engineer at Swansea University whose research interests cover the application of nanotechnology for health, data analytics for cell biology and wearable sensors for human motion analysis. Previously he has worked on the development of photonic devices and semiconductor materials & micro-systems. Huw is strongly committed to collaborative models for research, both across institutions and groups, and has led initiatives building research, teaching and student exchange partnerships with universities and medical research institutes in Texas.

Jo photo.jpgProject Administrator – Jo Griffiths

Jo joined the Network as Administrator from SUSTAIN Steel, an EPSRC Future Manufacturing Research Hub. Prior to working in Swansea, Jo was the Event Manager for the Institute for Manufacturing at Cambridge University.

Steering Group


Professor Andrew Evans – Head of Physics, Aberystwyth University

Dr Iestyn Pierce – Head of School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, Bangor University

Professor Sam Evans – School of Engineering, Cardiff University

Professor Jon Platts – Dean of School of Technologies, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Professor Caroline Gray – Director of OpTIC Technology Centre, Wrexham Glyndwr University

Professor Nigel Copner – Faculty of Computing, Engineering & Science, University of South Wales

Professor Johann Sienz – Deputy Executive Dean, Faculty of Science & Engineering, Swansea University

Dr Gregory Owen – Academic Director of Engineering, University of Wales, Trinity Saint David

Dr Ian Nicholson - AEM Section Manager, TWI Technology Centre Wales


If you wish to find out more about the Engineering Research Network Wales, please contact us.

News and Events

Advancing Research in Engineering and Materials